Usage Sharing also known as Telemetry in its simplest form is just information. EA collects certain information for purposes of improving our products and services.
How Telemetry is used by the support team
The support team use your data to investigate issues you have with your game. It helps us pinpoint exactly what went wrong, and how we can fix it.
Your data is great evidence when creating a support ticket.
Enable or disable Usage Sharing
It is recommended to keep Usage Sharing enabled. By turning off usage sharing you are preventing EA from collecting data from you, by doing so there are some services that this hinders.
Support may not be able to assist in most cases where Usage Sharing is disabled.
For example, in the rare event that some progress is lost, support will be unable to check EA records to verify the loss, and in this case may not be able to assist.
Hint: If you disable Usage Sharing it is wise to keep your own records & screenshots should anything happen.
What we do with your data, and who has access
We use your data to improve our products and services, proving services to you, facilitating the provision of software updates, dynamically served content and product support as well as communicating with you.
This data will not be shared with any third party in a way that can identify you.